About me! Ruth’s Mum!

6 Jun

Here I am! I used to think I was quite a complex creature with a largish brain and a competitive intellect, slightly circum-loquacious after a few glasses of wine, enthusiastic, creatively innovative and only slightly off the beaten track!

Dearie me, looking back, I actually sat my GCSEs a year early so I could take more A levels! Little did they know I would discover boys; I was a real Eve and they were the apple I shouldn’t have bitten!

Well, I just never ever thought I would reach 60 and now I am here, I had thought I would be much wiser!

I am still left with that feeling ‘ So much to know and not enough time to know it in, so much to do and not enough time to do it in, so much to read and etc etc’ It’s Life’s journey and I am going to enjoy the path and hope it’s a bit longer because if you reach the end that’s it; I am still learning and still very excited about new experiences and ‘buzzing’ with ideas and projects and soooo loving all the things I have time to do!!

I have just retired after 20 years of teaching 7 to 13 year olds and I am euphoric! So much time to garden, paint, play the piano and write to you! Funnily, I used to drive to school playing Likki Li or Santana or Little Dragon, full blast, to hype me up to cope with the day. If my husband used my car he used to jump at the volume! I’ve turned the volume down and cruise along at the correct speed now (new year resolution, along with not swearing at creative drivers!) singing along, and I must say, I appreciate music much more. I am having a brilliant time but have decided not to venture out too much to garden centres during the week; shock horrors watching the ‘long-retired’ trying to make ‘the where to actually park’ decision or ‘shall I let this person, three along, have my space’  WOW!! I am going to lie low for a while and discover who I am and the meaning of Life! Ho Ho Ho!

I am still vain and like to look good! I am still trying out new clothes, shoes, make-up etc. Even more so, as I am trying to re-invent myself in my new era and I am not ready yet, to go down’ the turquoise anorack and sensible shoes’ track! Still trying to be elegant and tastefully mature and waiting for the Sales! I once went to our local shoe shop sale and couldn’t decide, so took all 7 pairs of shoes, and the boxes! I love the boxes and the tissue paper and unwrapping them and always keep shoes in the original box !!!

I am going to stop meandering on and just hope that you will keep checking out my web site as I have a long list of product reviews and ideas and so much to write about that I could write every day! However, unlike Ruth, I have no self -discipline, so it will be once a week!. My eldest sister ( there are six of us) has written a diary every day of her life, this year she is 75!  I used to write a diary when I was little, but was so wicked, I had to burn them, and anyway it’s only interesting writing a diary when you have been outrageous and need to tell a page rather than a person! Years later, it’s hard to read words and actually believe that you were that person! Interesting though! It’s a bit of a cathartic exercise perhaps that should never be re-read? I am all for burning and moving on! The memories can be much more colourful and imaginative!

I am quite a novice to this form of communication, and have refused to be part of Facebook, so can’t believe I am tackling a new form of communication skill, with only educational programmes, ‘Smartboards’ and ‘Learning Platforms’ behind me in my last career, and now not having Ruth to look through for inappropriate phrases, I feel quite vulnerable. I have taught for most of my life: Lecturer in Textiles, Primary school and Head of Art with Maths, Technology and R E as second subjects. I have had art studios and at one point in my career managed to eek out a living from my Art and I have been a residential artist holding workshops in some interesting environments. I have made the decision not to venture back into education ever again and am declining offers for supply work with the excuse that I am practising for my new career as a pole-dancer, but who knows, I could be anything I want and I am going to take ages to make the decision, lots of reclining in Spas perhaps?

I started this draft in April but have no idea now how to get it onto the website so will be back when I have been talked through by Ruth,who is a wonder and a complete whizz at these things. I am wondering actually who on earth wants to read this and so if you are on Ruth’s website could you get your Mums to click into mine somehow and give me feedback?

7 Responses to “About me! Ruth’s Mum!”

  1. Natasha Bain June 28, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Hi Christine (Ruth’s Mum) I have added your blogs to my Be Notified! I want to read it and I loved your post and know exactly what you mean! I am only 42 years young and love my skincare! In fact only last week (sorry in advance about my little deviation and my long reply on your blog/post) I was talking to a 21 year old girl at the hospital (we were both waiting to see our operation surgeons (I have recently 3months ago in fact had a shoulder replacement! Yes very young I know to have such an op but unfortunately the arthroscopy op in Sept didn’t work so it had to be done! So now i’m the bionic wonder woman! Lol) Anyway (sorry I can talk for England! Lol) we were nattering away and we got on to ages and she said in 1 month she would be 22 years old! I then (me being me! Lol) asked her how old she thought I was!!!!!??? To which she replied “Well not much older than me I reckon 28 years old 30 at the very most! I’m sorry if I have offended you” I burst out laughing and said to her ” I’m in fact double your age i’m 42 years old” She looked at me with mouth agast and said “Nooooo way! Really? OMG what is your secret? What do you use how do you look so good? I want to look half as good as you at 42 years old! WOw” I have for quite a while now been told I do not look my age and look between 28-33 years old which makes me feel great! I just turned round to the girl and said ” Well I do have good genes both my mum and dad don’t look anywhere near their age but a few tigs you should do is drink loads of water and fruit juice, moisturise, don’t sit out in the sun for too long, don’t get burnt and defo do NOT use sunbeds or the like and smile, laugh and be happy” I couldn’t say don’t drink or smoke because I do smoke (ooopps sorry but hey ho) and I do like the occasional tipple but I don’t go overboard (well not often)
    I love being told I look younger than I am and it makes me feel soooo good! You do not look 60 years young either so well done whatever your secret is? I am looking forward to reading your blogs and from what I have seen so far they will be good and honest just like Ruth’s! There is nothing wrong with wanting to look good whether you are 10 years or 100 years old and a little bit of vanity is not a bad thing (it doesn’t seem to have done you any harm?) It’s when people go overboard with the vanity that really grates when they have a hair out of place or a spot and go absolutely crazy and bonkers!
    Keep up the good work and I am sorry I have written so much I promise not to do it again and once again look forward to reading more of your items! Keep up the good work Christine (or do you prefer Chris or Ruth’s mum? I’m sorry if I have offended you by calling you Christine?)

    Well done

    Natasha Bain xxx

    • mymumsays July 2, 2011 at 9:47 am #

      WOW! WOW! Dear Natasha, I doff my cap to you, you are a national treasure; you can write for England!
      Soooooo beautifully written!
      We need to meet, to see if you can beat me at speaking; I can talk for England! Thank you for making me feel good about my vanity! I absolutely agree about the water drinking and the sun beds and the laughing. I have to have a good laugh at myself frequently and find it impossible to take myself seriously!
      You have inspired me to write another post, but will have to be tomorrow, as the garden awaits my attention, and the sun is beckoning!
      AND don’t you dare promise to write less next time ! I LOVED IT
      Best wishes, Chris

      • Natasha Bain July 2, 2011 at 10:54 am #

        Awwwwwww Thank You! You are sooooo kind! Ooooohhh I would love to meet up! I really can speak for England! Lol! Even yesterday when I took the day off work to go to hosp with my mum (but that’s another story) my mum said do you realise you havn’t shut up talking for the last 2 hours apart from when you had that burger and even then that was only for a few minutes! I burst out laughing and said Oooops sorry but…….and started talking about something else! My mum was in stitches! Everyone knows when something is up or i’m not well because …….. I don’t speak much and am actually quite quiet! Lol
        Go have fun in your garden and I look forward to reading your new post and writing a “few” words! Lol Natasha xxxx

  2. Tora June 29, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    It is such a pleasure to meet you!

    I read it all, and I loved it! Thank you so much.

    • mymumsays July 2, 2011 at 9:07 am #

      Hello again! What do you think about me transferring my very early posts which were part of Ruth’s website? I think she may have dumped them in the Trash! I will confront her!

  3. Renee January 8, 2013 at 11:34 pm #

    Very nice blog!

  4. ieva March 22, 2015 at 6:02 pm #

    too wicked for a diary.. made me giggle 🙂

Leave a Reply

