Fitflops are for me!

28 Jun

I just would never have believed that these trainers/shoes are so different from my walking trainers! I love them! I am thinking of changing all my shoes now into Fitflops! This is what they say they do! THEY DO! WOW! They actually do what they say! There is a sale on at the moment and I am on it right away as I need the blue suede shoes!

Actually if you google Fitflops it comes up with lots of different outlets, so just have a look at the range on http://www.fitflops.co.uk as you may find them cheaper elsewhere. I’m a sucker now for their site as I just love their colour ranges and sometimes it takes days to visit all the different retailers and they don’t have what you want. (I think Ruth should do something on Keepcalmandshop on them!)

£85:00
FF Supertone™ (Leather) Platinum
Our all-leather FF SUPERTONE sneaker has a cool, ageless, classic, go-everywhere style, and cleverly conceals the toning sole (so you can wear it without anybody knowing you’re getting a workout). It has the same famous thigh muscle-activating, foot-flexing, bottom-benefiting biomechanics built-in, but it doesn’t look like a shoe that’s ‘good for you’. Highly recommended as a’second’ style for FitFlop sandal addicts!


FitFlop. Get a workout while you walk™
FitFlop footwear is biomechanically engineered to help tone and tighten your leg muscles while you walk in them. Studies at the Centre for Human Performance at London South Bank University (LSBU) show that normal walking in FitFlop sandals* can help:

– help increase leg and bottom muscle activity (up to 30%). (so you feel less ache in your hips and knees),

– absorb more shock than a normal shoe (up to 22%),

– help realign ground force reaction closer to your joints,

– reduce foot pressure and pain from heel spurs and plantar fasciitis.**

FitFlop sandals wearers have also reported relief from plantar fasciitis, heel spurs, chronic back pain, sciatica, osteoarthritis, RLS (restless leg syndrome), scoliosis and degenerative disc disease.
FitFlop footwear features patent- pending muscle-loadingMicrowobbleboard™ technology and was independently tested at Salford University in Manchester by Dr Philip Graham Smith & Richard Jones to verify their pro-muscle activity prior to launch. (FitFlop has also been approved by the American Podiatric Medical Association – APMA.

I have osteoarthritis of the facet joints in the lower spine, my knee joints are ‘shot’, both hips have osteopenia and I have  areas of osteoporosis in my spine! I am a wreck  and I have taken to walking, as an advised, weight- bearing exercise, in the fresh air, so that I can absorb Vitamin D, whilst chewing calcium tablets.

I usually wear walking boots or trainers for the footpaths and hilly terrain as they are more suitable to coming downhill from the Malverns. However I am finding fast walking on flat pavements or roads is preferable to my condition and doesn’t jar my hip joints. My Fitflop trainers are brilliant for this. They are quite wide so they don’t squash your toes up and they have blissful cotton insides so your feet don’t get all hot as they do, even in the Gortex boots and trainers.

However the ‘piece de resistance’ has got to be the way your heel sits lower down in the shoe, so you have to tuck your tummy and seat muscles in when you move. I always feel my posture is so much better in them and that I walk taller and use all my muscles and my tread feels lighter.

I have a silver pair and love them because I can wear them with a skirt or with jeans or crop trousers and they look so much better than trainers, which sometimes look like foam yachts!

I took mine to Spain and used them continuously on the promenades. Brilliant! Not so good for walking in sand though. I do tend to pound at my walking and go quite fast, as I find there is less pressure on my joints as you can sort of roll along! WITH FITFLOPS IT IS LIKE FLOATING! a bit like being a hovercraft!

I do have a tale to tell though and a warning! DON’T wear them through security at the airport! It’s always my husband who forgets he has change in his pockets, or his belt on. He is always the one who goes through and it beeps! THIS TIME IT WAS ME! ! I couldn’t believe it! I had to have the body search. ME! ! A PRINCESS!

It was my ‘wobbleboards’ which I had to then take off and put in the shoe ex-ray machine, but not until I had had the ‘cleavage chop,’ looking for metal underwiring, probably, and the investigations into skirt buckles, and whether my ‘hip-panniers’ were true mounds of fat, or secreting metal contraband! I thought my husband might be leaving me behind. I want to know what happens if you have metal pins in your hip joints?

To hazard a guess, as I haven’t tried other types of Fitflops, I would say that the trainers/sneakers/shoes give you the most support for fast walking as they have laces and you don’t need to grip with your toes to hold them on. So, I am not too sure, with my problems, whether sandals or clogs would be of equal benefit BUT I so love shopping on-line I am going to have a look at what’s available and take some time considering.

I also need Ruth to tell me how to get that link into blue? Also I would like to say how thankful I am that you have subscribed to my site. For a long while there was me and my other daughter, Kate. I kept looking for ages so I am sooooooooo pleased that there are people who might be interested as I have so many things to write about. I used to do retail therapy after work (teaching) and fill the baskets, whilst sipping wine and order EVERYTHING I wanted and then get to the checkout and close down! The feeling of exhilaration was GREAT! I can shop on line for days BUT actually hate going into shops. I have an allergy now to that noise the coathangers make as you swish the clothes past! It gives me nausea!

Hope you keep popping in and thankyou again.

Love to you all and best wishes for happy healthy days!

13 Responses to “Fitflops are for me!”

  1. Susan Fallon June 29, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    Hi Ruth’s Mum! The Fitflop toepost sandals fit so snugly you don’t have to wrassle them with your toes, so I think you’ll get on with those very well – I love mine, and while I will forever worship at the Temple of Killer Heels, my feet would vote to live in Fitflops. Since I got trainers and toeposts, I’ve lived in them – my other shoes are quite put out! Does help Plantar Fasciitis by the way. Great to see you on your own site – love your posts x

    • mymumsays July 2, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      Dear Susan,
      Oh dash, I have used up my budget for this Summer! I have seen them on their site, and so want to have a go, as I am squashed into my Timberland sandals and get blisters with the straps. Perhaps I will hunt out the sale places again! Thank you for your response and you have now tempted me to have another look at the site! I also am a high heel maniac; perhaps because I am short and my hubby is a six footer!

  2. Olivia June 29, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    I have a pin in my foot and I don’t go off at the airport, they’re not magnetic either so I think it’s along the same lines as that 🙂

    • mymumsays July 2, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      Dear Olivia
      Thankyou for responding to my’ future hip joint anxiety’ , I think I just have a complete paranoia about airports anyway. The air is always filled with anxiety and “I shall walk barefoot through the halls scattering rose petals and chanting” the next time I am off on my travels!

  3. Diana July 1, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Hoorah for Fitflops…as I sit and type this I am wearing my FitFlop sandals…Electra Bronze.. I am looking forward to buying some shoes now for Autumn winter…comfy doesnt begin to describe them…and for us mature ladies..with our aches…pains and problems..they are wonderful

    I’m enjoying your blog…love Ruths too
    Thank you
    Diana

    • mymumsays July 2, 2011 at 9:01 am #

      Dear Diana
      Thankyou for responding to my Fitflop fervour and I am prompted to have a go at the sandals BUT I do have a budget so it will probably be winter shoes in a more appropriate seasonal colour than my silver ones! AND I have used up my summer shoe budget!

  4. Moxie Reviews July 2, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    What a great idea to have Ruth’s Mom writing her own blog! I’m really in awe of Ruth. Not only does she have beauty and brains, but also, she responds to her tweets! Don’t laugh, a lot of the “big shots,” do not! 🙂

    I liked reading about the Fitflops. As you wrote, I certainly would never have believed that they were different, and I’m glad to read you love them and recommend them. I’ll have to take a closer look now that “Ruth’s Mom” is recommending them!

    Thank you and I look forward to following your blog posts.

    xx
    Moxie

  5. Food Allergy Treatment September 16, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    I believe everything wrote made a ton of sense.
    However, what about this? what if you added a little content?
    I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, but
    what if you added a headline to maybe grab people’s attention?
    I mean Fitflops are for me! | My Mum Says…
    is a little plain. You ought to glance at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create news titles to grab people to open the links.
    You might add a video or a related pic or two to grab people interested about everything’ve written.

    Just my opinion, it would bring your posts a little livelier.

    • mymumsays October 26, 2013 at 11:04 am #

      I know but ‘behind the screen’ is not in my daily life and I am so incredibly busy enjoying myself out walking, on holiday, visiting friends, going to the theatre and after having worked for over 20 years in the classroom, I just feel I earned myself some fresh air! But you are right and perhaps when winter comes I will tackle this problem! Many Thanks for your suggestions! Chris

  6. turbulencetrainingworkout.net December 17, 2014 at 11:41 am #

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality
    articles or weblog posts on this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this information So i’m satisfied to express that
    I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed.
    I most for sure will make certain to do not fail to remember this
    website and provides it a glance on a continuing basis.

  7. mymumsays September 25, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Ugg-boot style, here I come! Winter approaches!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fitflops | i Luxury Style - September 21, 2011

    […] loads of different styles – my Mum has some silver trainers (you can read all about hers on My Mum Says) and I also have some Ugg-boot style ones that are cosy and gorgeous. I’ll agree that […]

  2. Fitflops Review | A Model Recommends - May 19, 2012

    […] loads of different styles – my Mum has some silver trainers (you can read all about hers on My Mum Says) and I also have some Ugg-boot style ones that are cosy and gorgeous. I’ll agree that […]

Leave a Reply

