Spider eyes!

3 Feb

When I once asked my lovely husband if I looked a bit middle-aged, he said ” No, Chris, you aren’t middle-aged, you are old-aged!”  Afterwards! …….. in fact quite a while afterwards, I thought yes, you are correct, I am, although my brother-in-law’s Mum is celebrating her 105th birthday this week, I would have to last to 120, to be middle-aged now!

Ah well, he is on the pinnacle of an intellectual mountain, I can’t expect him to slide down just to deal with ‘female vulnerabilities’ and it’s only since I have had a bit more time on my hands, that ‘my appearance’ has climbed the ‘things to tackle’ list! B C and B J, I maybe looked in a mirror once or twice a week and DEFINITELY no time for make up!

I went to a surprise sixtieth birthday party last weekendish. Surpise? Oh really? If that was a surprise, then, why was my friend wearing a little lacey black number, suede boots and ‘made-up-to-the-nines’, (what is this saying? what are the nines?)

Which brings me to ‘The use of mascara when you are old-aged’ Why do some older, black-eyed beauties have to wear those claggy- squashed- spider-lashes? Their lashes absolutely caked and thickened and lengthened, emphasising the outline of the eye with black eye-liner? Their faces thickly covered in ‘tanned’ face make-up, foundation, with the ubiquitous pink powdering on the cheekbones and then the bright lips.

Since the party, I have been experimenting! I have now thrown out all those lash-lengtheners, where you have to have a little comb to get rid of all the blobs of mascara or try to pick all the bits off or,even if you fold up the piece of tissue under your bottom lashes, you end up with big blobs on your under-eye wrinkles !

You probably know this and have been using it for eons, BUT, I have JUST discovered Clinique’s ‘bottom lash long-wearing formula mascara’, which has a tiny brush, just right for bottom lashes AND their ‘ high impact dramatic lashes on-contact mascara impact optimal’ is so very light to apply. I do find it VERY confusing when buying mascaras now as they all portend to do something different and I don’t know what all the different things are anymore! Optimal, high-impact, on-contact! What does it mean!

We used to have a little cake of black mascara in a compact with a brush, like a tiny ‘handbrush’ and you wet the black cake with water, or spit, and rubbed the brush over it, until you got a creamy coating on the brush, then you applied it! It wasn’t waterproof and my Mum used to complain that she couldn’t get it out of the towels, on wash-day!

I can remember a friend’s Dad, when I was twelve, or thirteen, telling me to “wash that ‘muck’ off my face, as I looked like I had been down a coal mine!”

I am finding I use more eye make up with my specs on, but actually getting it on, when I can’t see, is a real challenge! I used to be okay with contact lenses but at the moment, I am not wearing them very often as I appear to be going through a ‘dry-eye’ stage in my old-age!

Photo on 2014-01-29 at 11.14 #4

Anyway, here are the mascara-eyes!

5 Responses to “Spider eyes!”

  1. crillysmalls February 4, 2014 at 7:26 am #

    so funny!!!! you are a brilliant writer mum!

  2. Alison Harriman (@AlisonH_) February 6, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

    Looks good! I tint my lashes, since their colour has faded as I’ve gotten older. And no black eye liner. Brown or navy is fine, but I find black around my eyes makes me look like something out of MacBeth. I wear glasses too, and found a magnifying mirror works a treat when applying eye make up.

  3. Lyn March 19, 2014 at 12:15 pm #

    I’m probably older than you and wear glasses so use magnifying glass to apply mascara

    Think black is for the youngsters and my “best since sliced bread” mascara is one by Guerlain in violet

    http://www.escentual.com/guerlain/make-up/mascara/guerlainmakeup065/

  4. Robyn Newell October 23, 2014 at 10:08 pm #

    I found your blog through Ruth’s blog. I am enjoying both tremendously! My first mascara was the little compact/ spittle type, also. I second the magnifying mirror, mine is 10X and lighted: Scary, and useful, say kind things to yourself when you look in it. 🙂

    • mymumsays March 30, 2015 at 4:32 pm #

      I bought my daughters and future daughter in law those illuminated make up mirrors from Boots on line but I have had to steer clear of them; what one doesn’t see one doesn’t grieve over!

Leave a Reply

